Going into the 2022 Olympics, the teen, who is competing for the host country, admitted (via Olympics.com) that the pressure was “huge,” but she planned on using “the nervousness to perform better.” Unfortunately, it seems the pressure, as well as comments online, have affected Yi’s performances in Beijing. Continue reading to learn more about figure skater Zhu Yi, where she’s from and her performances at the 2022 Winter Olympics.

How old is Zhu Yi?

At the time of the 2022 Winter Olympics, the figure skater is 19 years old. Her birthday is September 19, 2002.

Where is Zhu Yi from?

Yi, whose English name is Beverly, was born to Chinese parents in Los Angeles. Her dad Zhu Songchun and mom Cui Jie immigrated to the U.S. for work, according to the South China Morning Post.

Is Zhu Yi skating for Team USA or China at the Olympics?

While the Olympian hails from California, she’s representing the People’s Republic of China at the Beijing Winter Games. Yi gave up her American citizenship in 2018 so she could compete for China.

How many Olympics has Zhu Yi appeared in?

Yi is making her Olympic debut at the 2022 Games in Beijing. Ahead of the 2022 Olympics, the figure skater penned on Instagram that she was “so so so honored to be representing Team China at the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics.” Yi added, “After five test skates, I’m proud to have fought till the very end to achieve such a big dream of mine. Especially after having a couple of rough years, I’m so grateful for those who helped me push past the negative thoughts and injuries; helping me grow throughout this journey. Hoping to show everyone how hard I’ve worked and put the best version of myself out there on the ice!”

Does Zhu Yi have any Olympic medals?

Yi has yet to take home a gold, silver or bronze medal. The Chinese figure skating team finished fifth overall in the team standings at the start of the 2022 Games, in part because Yi’s mistakes on the ice bumped her team back from third place.

Did Zhu Yi fall at the 2022 Winter Olympics?

Yi fell on the ice during the women’s single skating short program team event on Feb. 6. “I’m upset and a little embarrassed,” she said, per Reuters. “I guess I felt a lot of pressure because I know everybody in China was pretty surprised with the selection for ladies’ singles and I just really wanted to show them what I was able to do but unfortunately I didn’t.” The following day, Yi fell again (twice) in the free skating team event. The teen was visibly emotional on the ice.

What are people saying about Zhu Yi in Beijing?

Yi has reportedly been on the receiving end of criticism. South China Morning Post previously reported that the hashtag “Zhu Yi has fallen” gained 200 million views in just a few hours on the Chinese social media platform Weibo after Yi first fell on the ice. “Zhu Yi, how ridiculous your performance is!” one user said, per South China Morning Post, while another wrote, “How dare you skate for China? You cannot even hold a candle to an amateur!” Yi admitted to Xinhua on Feb. 7 that she’d been affected by the comments online. “Today’s pressure is given by myself. I want to prove myself, because I didn’t do it well yesterday, and what everyone said on the Internet still affects me,” she shared. Yi noted that she’s “trained very hard,” but “now the problem is still psychological.” She said, “I will try not to be influenced by the outside world.” Next, Get a Gold Medal in the Giggles With the Best Olympics Memes From the 2020 Tokyo and 2022 Beijing Games!

Who Is Olympic Figure Skater Zhu Yi  Where She s From  Citizenship  Fall - 95