“When we started this show in 2003, the iPhone didn’t exist. Social Media didn’t exist. Gay marriage wasn’t legal,” Ellen DeGenerestweeted on April 28, 2022, after wrapping filming of the final episode. “We watched the world change, sometimes for the better, sometimes not. But whatever was happening, my goal was always for the show to be a place where we could all come together and laugh for an hour. Being invited into your lives has been the greatest privilege of my life and has brought me incredible joy,” her statement continued. “Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.” In May 2022, DeGeneres told The Hollywood Reporter of her final season’s shoots, “There was a time a couple of months out where I was crying every day. I was really emotional, even though it was my choice, and it’s the right choice. I knew it was time to end this chapter and to do something different, but still, it was really emotional. But I did not want the last two weeks to be about that. I’d meditate every day on my intention and how much I wanted to be present and enjoy it and I wanted that for the audience, too. I wanted people to be reminded of what we brought to television with the music and the games and everything. It was more of a variety show than anything, and I wanted the last two weeks to be pure fun because I struggle with anxiety and depression and I know how important it is to have an escape. We’re reminded every single day of what’s going on in the world, from a sick family member to wars and fires and global warming. There are so many different things that make you sad.” “I struggle with becoming overwhelmed with that,” she continued. “And sometimes it feels hard for me even to go out and do a show because I am thinking, “How can I be out having fun when someone’s suffering?” And then I realize that that’s one hour a day that I’m helping somebody who needs to escape just like I do. That’s what I hope everybody was getting from the show and will remember it for.” Find out when Ellen’s last show in 2022 will air as well as what to expect from the finale.

When is Ellen DeGeneres’ last show?

DeGeneres’ final episode will air on May 26, 2022. The finale was filmed on April 28, 2022.

Who will be on Ellen’s last show?

Guests for The Ellen DeGeneres Show’s final curtain call include Jennifer Aniston, who was the first star ever to guest on the show back in 2003; as well as Billie Eilish and singer Pink, who croons the theme song. That said, knowing DeGeneres as a host, there will likely be some surprise guests in-store as well. Leading up to the daytime staple’s finale, guests will also include Justin Timberlake, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Oprah Winfrey, Mila Kunis, Kerry Washington, Keith Urban, Zac Efron, Sean “Diddy” Combs, Brad Paisley, Bruno Mars and Kate McKinnon.

Why is Ellen not hosting?

Though Season 19 is her last, DeGeneres had guest hosts for a number of episodes. She previously said in a statement, “Throughout the season, I’ve had wonderful people filling in for me as guest hosts. It’s a tradition that dates back to Johnny Carson, he would have guest hosts all the time. And I like to follow tradition, especially if it involves me missing work."

Why is the Ellen show ending?

The Ellen DeGeneres Show is coming to a close because its titular host simply wants to move on. “I’m a creative person, and when you’re a creative person you constantly need to be challenged, which is why I decided to host the Oscars or why I decided to go back to stand up when I didn’t think I would,” DeGeneres confessed to The Hollywood Reporterin a May 2021 interview. “I just needed something to challenge me. And as great as this show is, and as fun as it is, it’s just not a challenge anymore. I need something new to challenge me.” She added, “That was going to be my last season and they wanted to sign for four more years and I said I’d sign for maybe for one. They were saying there was no way to sign for one. ‘We can’t do that with the affiliates and the stations need more of a commitment.’ So, we [settled] on three more years and I knew that would be my last. That’s been the plan all along. And everybody kept saying, even when I signed, ‘You know, that’s going to be 19, don’t you want to just go to 20? It’s a good number.’ So is 19.” The show also came under scrutiny in recent years after allegations of a toxic work environment surfaced. However, DeGeneres insisted that not only were some (though not all) of the allegations against her untrue, but that they also weren’t a factor in her walking away from the rating juggernaut. While the host acknowledged that the allegations were hurtful, she apologized for the negativity behind the scenes and insisted that the reports didn’t impact her decision to leave the show behind, saying simply, “If I was quitting the show because of that, I wouldn’t have come back this season.” Next, check out Ellen DeGeneres’ 50 most uplifting quotes about kindness.

When is Ellen DeGeneres  Last Show  Guests  Why It s Ending - 74