Lizzo’s victory also brings her halfway to achieving EGOT status, which is reached when a person wins an Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony award.  During her tearful speech, Lizzo opened up about her reason for starting the show–which followed her as she searched for a new group of backup dancers to accompany her on tour.  “When I was a little girl, all I wanted to see was me in the media. Someone fat like me, black like me, beautiful like me,” she said while on stage. “If I could go back and tell little Lizzo something, I’d be like, ‘you’re going to see that person, but b**** it’s going to have to be you.’ This is for my big girls.”  The “Truth Hurts” singer also shared a selfie on Twitter after accepting the award, where she showed off her smeared makeup as a result of her tears.  “This is for the BIG GRRRLS,” the caption read.  You can watch Lizzo’s touching speech in its entirety in the video above.  More News:

Abbott Elementary’ Star Sheryl Lee Ralph Sings Inspirational Emmy Acceptance SpeechEmmy Winners 2022: Complete List of Winners and Nominees (Updating Live)Abbott Elementary’ Continues to Honor Teachers With Generous ‘Gifts Back’ Sweepstakes