“One thing I’m so thankful for is that we met each other a little later in life,” Joanna confessed. “Chip was probably one of the oldest of his friends to get married and in that time period, it’s like we both…I know for me like as a woman, I figured out, you know, I wanted to be as whole as possible with all the stuff. Like, how can I be whole?” The Magnolia cofounders did not want to enter marriage asking, “How will someone complete me?” Instead, Joanna wanted a partner. She said, “But I think as much as we cannot rely on each other to fill us up, that’s not our job, it’s to come together and partner together. Then we’re the best for our children.” “So it’s got to be in that priority, in our minds, in our heart and in our home, that we’re healthy and whole so that our children, what trickles down to them, is health and wholeness as well,” the Magnolia Table author continued. The couple sat down with Winfrey in the episode, airing March 13 on discovery+, to discuss their Magnolia Network, as well as their life on the farm and raising their kids. Chip and Joanna’s interview will also be available on the SuperSoulpodcast March 17. Super Soul, which is back exclusively on discovery+, features “thought-provoking, heart-expanding” conversations between Winfrey and visionaries, top thinkers, authors, and spiritual leaders. The series is based on OWN’s three-time Emmy Award-winning SuperSoul Sunday. Next, how to watch Joanna Gaines’ cooking show!

Watch Joanna Gaines Discuss Marriage to Chip in Oprah Interview - 20