Rachel dug deep for the performance, both “vocally and emotionally” according to her coach Nick Jonas, as the song shone a light on Rachel’s own battle with depression when she felt it would be better if she were not here. She told reporters in a Zoom junket after her performance that she wanted to help rid the topic of depression of its taboo as far as people not speaking about the subject because the truth is so many people experience it. “So many people deal with it, but yet, you’re considered bold if you talk about it,” Rachel said. “Being a teenager and knowing that so many people struggle through that and I’ve witnessed people go downhill and I’ve gone downhill myself, I think it is so important to know because no one talks about it. I’ve overcome it and I think it’s also important for people to know that it is not that way forever. You can get help.” As for what she’s learned to do to help herself when she feels herself spiraling down, Rachel says she’s discovered that that is when she needs to take the time to focus on herself. In fact, she says the quarantine due to COVID-19 helped her because it allowed her to do just that—to spend time with herself. “COVID isn’t going to last forever, which is a good thing, but take time for yourself because the outside world can really get to you, so just be with yourself and pray or meditate or whatever you do, focus on you,” she continued. The winner of The Voice season 20 will be announced on Tuesday, May 25, so it is just around the corner, and Rachel is looking forward to resuming life outside the singing competition. “It’s going to be fun,” she said. “I am excited to watch all the other artists because, obviously, we love the show, we love the coaches, but it is a competition setting and it’s rush, rush, rush. It is different than how our music is going to be afterward. I think you’re going to see us have a lot of fun. We’re all really excited to put our music out there.” Here’s more of our chat with the Romeo, Mich., native:

What made you decide to try out for The Voice?

I have been watching the show since I was very little. I would sing to my stuffed animals in my room and pretend they were coaches. It’s 100 percent true. I was really obsessed with the show and that’s how I started liking Blake Shelton. But I think this year with COVID, I would not have thought to audition for the show, but a friend who is also a singer, said, “Are you auditioning?” I said “Yeah.” I totally wasn’t, but I got a slot and it was all uphill from there.

What were you surprised to learn about Nick when you joined his team?

I think for celebrities in general, people expect them to be celebrities—these grand people with grand expectations. But, I think, for all the coaches, especially Nick, they’re so down to earth. I feel they care about the people and they care about the music most importantly and, I think, that was humbling to see.

What is the most memorable thing from your time on The Voice?

I’ve been geeking out about wardrobe. I’m a teen girl, so being able to try on all these cute little things and being pictured and having a stylist, there’s so much behind-the-scenes stuff that gets us geeked out and makes us feel like a “celebrity.”

What would it mean to you to win? 

Everybody really wants to win this show. If not for the accolades but for the principle of it. We’ve all worked our booties off. We all just love the music. It is such an honor. This is the 10th anniversary and there were so many greats before us. The Voice season 20 finale airs Monday and Tuesday night, May 24 and 25 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, who will win The Voice? Here are our predictions.

The Voice Finalist Rachel Mac s Battle With Depression Led to Her Emotional Performance of  Human  - 85