A Silicon Valley resident by way of the jungles of Sri Lanka. A man who literally learned English watching Survivor. A valuable provider in one of the toughest seasons the show has ever had. A player whose overwhelming positivity and resourcefulness paid off in finding advantages. Someone who, when all those things piled up, became a target, blindsided with an idol in his pocket. That is Naseer Muttalif. Naseer started the game on a mixed note. While his Luvu tribemates were simply surviving, he was actually thriving, using his experience growing up in his home country of Sri Lanka to forage for much-needed food. But his strategy began to undo that survival capital, as the secretive plans he was trying to put into motion spread faster than the fires he made. Luckily, the Luvu tribe never went to Tribal Council in the premerge, undoubtedly aided by Naseer’s efforts (even nearly-single-handedly overcoming an attempt to throw a challenge). Naseer felt comfortable in his position through some chaotic merge votes, part of a majority alliance with his fellow Luvus and with an idol in his pocket. Even when the final ten players were split into two tribes, he continued to feel safe. He figured it would be an easy vote against Heather Aldret, who had thrown his name out in the last Tribal Council. But Naseer didn’t sense betrayal would come from the people he held closest: The dynamic duo of Shan Smith and Ricard Foyé. Ricard felt Naseer was becoming more and more threatening as the endgame approached, and they took their shot using Shan’s extra vote. In what he thought was a slam-dunk vote, it was Naseer who got dunked on, leaving him feeling as confused as a goat on Astroturf. Now out of the game, Naseer talks with Parade.com about why he chose not to play his idol, the various adventures of him on Luvu premerge, and how he reacts to an overwhelmingly positive response from Survivor fans. You said several times in the postmerge that you had an idol and you weren’t going anywhere. What made you decide in this particular Tribal Council not to play the idol, especially when you see that Heather didn’t play her Shot in the Dark? That is the only day I really trusted someone. In Survivor, trust doesn’t go that great! (Laughs.) I felt confident. I knew I was a solid alliance for them; I was loyal to Shan and Ricard. I had the biggest target on my back on Day 1, so I knew how I was playing. I wasn’t naive! But on that day, it felt right. I stepped out of the challenge the previous day with Shan to get the rice, so we built a relationship. Sometimes you have to trust someone and have a human connection. That wasn’t the right person to trust, obviously. (Laughs.) So how do you react to these two people you were loyal to voting you out? I don’t think that was the right day to vote me out. I was a loyal, solid number for them. They could have kept me one more day. That was my plan. I wanted to hold my idol for one more day. I thought the vote was a no-brainer; Ricard and Shan would vote for Heather. I don’t have to waste my idol, and Shan doesn’t have to waste her extra vote. I figured let me just get through this day. And then, if I lose the next Immunity Challenge, I can play my idol. It was confidence, but that’s the beauty of the game. Let’s go back to those days on Luvu, which we didn’t see much of. What was your sense of your position in the premerge? Mike, from the first day when we got onto that island, I told them the truth. That backfired on me when Sydney went and told Danny and Deshawn. But, in the end, they lied! (Laughs.) I knew exactly how things were going. Erika and Heather were very close. I tried to talk to Erika for almost 11 days, and she didn’t want to talk to anybody or form an alliance at all. Heather and Deshawn were very close. Deshawn and Danny were very close. Sydney was playing a double agent game. She would come to me and tell me something, so I knew exactly what was going on over there. So am I going to show them that I know I’m at the bottom? No! I wanted to be the happiest kid out there. I was the happiest camper, so it would make them go crazy. Like, “He doesn’t have the numbers. Why is he so happy?” I didn’t want to show them that I was in the know. I found an idol; I provided for them. I’m not throwing a tantrum and saying, “No, you guys don’t know how to take care of yourself.” I will find food; I’ll cook for you. I will catch crabs, and I will do everything for you. Talk to me about all the challenge throwing going on. First, you overcome the effort Danny and Deshawn put in and win the challenge for Luvu. Then, when they approach you the next round about throwing it, you refuse. They asked me, “Can we please throw the challenge?” They know that they can’t throw a challenge without my support. Because they tried, and it failed! (Laughs.) So the following challenge, they came and asked, and I’m like, “Nope.” When you go to a Tribal Council, no matter how safe or confident you feel, things can go live. One vote can change around, and then you’re gone. There was one moment where you woke Sydney up in the middle of the night to tell her to target Danny. What was your thinking behind that? So I actually knew Sydney would tell Danny I was targeting him. I told Danny she was playing a double agent game, and he told me he trusted me. I wanted her to tell him to let Danny know I’m trying to play too. When Abraham and Brad and Voce were gone, Danny was worried. He was the biggest man out there physically. So I thought it would be good to put some scare into his brain, and I wanted to test it. If I told Erika or Heather, that message would not go to Danny. If I told Sydney that, then it would. I tried so hard to get Sydney into an alliance. But she used her Shot in the Dark. And look what happened. So there we go. You mentioned this past episode that you and Heather started on a rocky relationship, which we didn’t get to see. Talk to me about what that dynamic was like. I never had a really great relationship with Heather. She was hard to talk to. One day we will be okay. Then the other day, she will have her dream. (Laughs.) Then she’ll have an argument with Sydney. You can’t sit for five to ten minutes and talk to Heather. So if you can’t have a real conversation, how are you going to form an alliance with Heather? I tried. I tried with everyone. I was so loyal. And I was honest. At the same time, she had a lot of positive aspects. When I started building the shelter, she was right there. She worked really hard. She was always helping with firewood. Not all the time, but sometimes. (Laughs.) I was focusing on her positiveness. So I tried to form an alliance. But then she was very close to Erika, and Erika would not talk to us. That’s the whole reason Danny and Deshawn wanted to throw the challenge, because it was hard to make an alliance with her. She would not open up and talk. So just sits and waits. As you mentioned, you were the provider on your tribe. How much of that was a strategy versus just being who you are? Absolutely strategy. When we hopped on that boat the first day on the ship, and they said, “No rice,” I started rethinking. I did my research, so I thought if I had rice, I could make curries or something, have a nice meal. I don’t need anything. I know how to find things out there. So then, when we find out we have no rice, and we lose the challenge, I start thinking in the boat, “What can I do for my tribe?” I had already prepared my mind by the time we got to the island. Even though we had no flint and no machete, it’s a piece of cake for me. I’m totally fine. Had you survived last night’s vote, who were you eyeing for the endgame? Premerge, me, Deshawn, and Danny become so close. We had some ups and downs. But three or four challenges into it, we built our alliances. So when that split happened, of course, I’m trusting Shan and Ricard. Shan has already told me she can’t trust Ricard. So I can see there’s a fracture in there. Before, Erika finally came up to me and said, “I will be with you if you want to work together.” So she and Ricard would make three. I was also looking at Xander. He’s very friendly. I know he wrote my name down. But he was playing well, just waiting for things to happen. He hopped on on things and moved on. So we could have gotten him easy too. Xander had his name thrown around everywhere. And maybe Deshawn. And if Deshawn doesn’t want to vote with me, Ricard, Xander, and Erika, we take out Deshawn. So we have three votes. And when I get to the final four. I don’t have to worry about making fire. I can look at the flint and tinder, and it starts burning. (Laughs.) Your story is incredibly unique for a Survivor contestant. What was it like for you to tell it, and to hear back from the fans in turn? Some people feel ashamed to tell their stories or their harsh life experiences. I’m really proud of my story. Because I want people to know that we have to work hard and show some appreciation for what you have in your hand before you look for something. Yeah, I need a million dollars. But if you have a coconut tree right next to it, take care of that tree first. I have an amazing story. And it’s a learning experience. I think that story made me who I am. Right. So I’m really happy to share my story. And I think I think I think it is an inspiring story. And some may benefit from it, or at least change their thinking process. “If Naseer can do it, why can’t I?” To the fans out there, I try to respond to fans as much as I can it. I love the vibes. Last night when I was watching my episode, I knew I was going out. But with the love I received from fans, I can’t be sad. So I want to say thank you to every single of you who’s watching me and your love and support. I know some can’t send their love because they’re not on social media. But I want to say thank you so much. It’s a very warm love from me to every fan. I love you all. Thank you so much for your support. Next, check out our exit interview with Tiffany Seely, who was voted out in Survivor 41 Episode 8.

Survivor 41  Naseer Muttalif Post Elimination Interview  2021  - 57