Amidst a lot of drama surrounding their relationship and allegations of Piqué’s infidelity, Shakira has only opened up a little about the ordeal.  But now, it seems like she’s using her music to process it all, as the music video and lyrics for her new song “Monotonía” seem to allude to the breakup. In the new song, a collaboration with Ozuna, Shakira sings, “It wasn’t your fault, it wasn’t my fault/It was monotony’s fault/I never said anything but it hurt/I knew this would happen.” The lyrics are translated from the original Spanish.  But the song’s music video’s story about a terrible breakup is even more apparent, as it depicts an emotional Shakira with a big hole in her chest, chasing her heart as it gets stepped on and disregarded by the people around her.  Shakira co-directed the “Monotonía” music video with Jaume de la Iguana, and her influence is obvious in the storyline. At the end of the video, Shakira locks her heart in a box to be protected, but she holds the key in her hand, indicating that maybe someday she’ll open it up again. “Monotonía” comes not long after she released the song “Te Felicito” with Rauw Alejandro earlier this year.  The song includes the translated lyrics: “For completing you I broke myself into pieces/They warned me, but I didn’t pay attention…And now it turns out that you’re sorry/Seems sincere, but I know you well and I know you lie.” Many fans thought this song was also a direct response to her current hardships. Speaking with ELLE last month, Shakira revealed that, for her, making music is “like going to the shrink, only cheaper.”  She said, “It just helps me process my emotions and make sense of them. And it helps me to heal. I think it’s the best medicine, and along with the love of my family and my kids that sustains me, music and writing music is definitely one of those tools—one of the few tools I have for survival in extreme conditions.” More News:

Jamie Lee Curtis Strikes a Pose in Halloween Bathtub Photo

Halloween Lawn Decorations Featuring Everyday ‘Scary Things’ Go Viral on Instagram

Wonder Bread Debuts First-Ever Float for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade