After TMZ published a Feb. 16 report of their split, a source told PEOPLE later that day, “It was an amicable split; it just wasn’t working… They’re very different people with busy careers and there were obstacles that they couldn’t surmount. They will remain friendly; there’s no bad blood and no drama. It just didn’t work out for them.” Woodley had revealed to The Tonight Show’s Jimmy Fallon. back in February 2021, “Yes, we are engaged. We are engaged. But for us, it’s not new news, you know, so it’s kind of funny. Everybody right now is freaking out over it and we’re like, ‘Yeah, we’ve been engaged for a while.’” Keep reading to take a look back at Shailene Woodley and Aaron Rodgers’ romance.

When did Shailene Woodley and Aaron Rodgers get engaged?

According to Woodley’s February 2021 Q&A with Fallon, she and Rodgers had been engaged for “a while” before publicly sharing the news. Her confession had arrived after Rodgers had revealed during the NFL Honors earlier that month that he was engaged… though he did not mention his fiancée’s name. “2020 was definitely a crazy year filled with lots of change, growth, some amazing, memorable moments,” he said while accepting the 2020 MVP award. “One hundred-eighty straight days of having my nose hair scraped, a plan for very little fans or no stands the entire season. I got engaged, and I played some of the best football of my career.” The news came days after E! News reported that the couple was an item. “They have kept things private and low key,” a source told the outlet that same month.

When did Shailene Woodley and Aaron Rodgers meet?

The Big Little Lies star and Green Bay Packers quarterback met amid the pandemic. “We met during this wacky, wacky time and all of the stadiums were closed that he was playing in, so I’ve yet to go to a football game,” Woodley shared with Fallon. “I didn’t really grow up with sports, especially American sports. It was never really on my radar.” She continued, “When we met, also, I knew he was a football guy, but I didn’t know like what kind of a football guy he was. And I’m still constantly learning.” The actress also confessed that she never pictured herself marrying a football player. “He’s first off just a wonderful, incredible human being, but I never thought I’d be engaged to somebody who threw balls for a living,” she said of Rodgers. “Like I never thought as a little girl, I was like, ‘Yeah, when I grow up, I’m going to marry someone who throws balls, yeah!’ But he’s really just so good at it.” While Rodgers is a football star, his fiancée doesn’t “know him as a football guy.” Woodley said, “I know him as, like, the nerd who wants to host Jeopardy!. That’s the dude I know. He just happens to also be very good at sports.” During quarantine in April 2020, Woodley told Parade that when it came to relationships, she did not “really want anyone to come” into her life “to fill a void.” “I want them to come into my life to add to what I’ve already been able to create,” she said. “I think all relationships, every single time that you find any connection with someone, it’s more about what they teach you about yourself. And what shades and colors they reveal to you about you." At the time, Woodley noted, “I’m at a place in my life where I feel that before I can offer myself, my whole self, to someone else, I really have to offer myself to myself, which I’ve never really done before. I’m taking the time to really get to know me for who I am today, and fully with the acknowledgment that we continually evolve and grow.” Looking for love? You’ll find it in the best romance movies on HBO Max.

Shailene Woodley And Aaron Rodgers End Engagement  Take A Look Back At How They Met - 45