The announcement that Archie has a baby sibling on the way was accompanied by a gorgeous black-and-white photo of the couple lying on the grass in the shade of a tree. Meghan’s head is in her husband’s lap while she rests a hand on her bump, and smiling up at her husband. Harry is barefoot, and Meghan wears a flowing white dress that was made for her by Carolina Herrera back when the Duchess of Sussex was pregnant with Archie. In the sweetest move ever, the news was released on Valentine’s Day—37 years to the day after it was announced that Princess Diana was pregnant with Harry. The Sussexes’ spokesperson told People, “We can confirm that Archie is going to be a big brother. The Duke and Duchess of Sussex are overjoyed to be expecting their second child.” The picture of Harry and Meghan was taken remotely via iPad by Misan Harriman, who in 2020 became the first-ever black photographer to shoot the cover for British Vogue’s September issue and is a longtime friend of the couple. He posted the picture on his Instagram account with the caption, “Meg, I was there at your wedding to witness this love story begin, and my friend, I am honoured to capture it grow.” In November, Meghan penned a powerful essay for the New York Times in which she described the grief and heartache of having suffered a miscarriage earlier that year. “I knew, as I clutched my firstborn child, that I was losing my second,” she wrote. She goes on, “Hours later, I lay in a hospital bed, holding my husband’s hand. I felt the clamminess of his palm and kissed his knuckles, wet from both our tears. “Staring at the cold white walls, my eyes glazed over. I tried to imagine how we’d heal.” Meghan and Harry are living in Montecito with Archie, who turns 2 on May 6. Next up, Princess Eugenie gave birth to a boy! Here’s everything we know.

Meghan Markle Pregnant   Prince Harry and Meghan Markle Announce 2nd Baby News - 96