Penn, 44, told PEOPLE, “I discovered my own sexuality relatively late in life compared to many other people. There’s no timeline on this stuff. People figure their s**t out at different times in their lives, so I’m glad I did when I did.” “I shared things with my parents and close friends first. I know this sounds jokey, but it’s true: When you’ve already told your Indian parents and the South Asian community that you intend to be an actor for a living, really any conversations that come after that are super easy. They’re just like, ‘Yeah, okay,’” he recalled. “I felt very supported by everyone. That’s a wonderful thing. I know everybody has different experiences with that and so I definitely feel very fortunate.” Deciding to share his life somewhat publicly was a big step, but a necessary one for Penn. “Figuring out the narrative [in the book], of how to respect who they really are, with telling my story—that includes: my work life, both in Hollywood and D.C., it includes my love life with Josh and how we met, it includes my parents, to the extent that I’m willing to share stories about their upbringing. So that was the most important thing for me,” he said. “I wanted my story to be authentic from my perspective and told in a way that makes you feel like you really get to know me.” Get to know Kal Penn, his fiancé and how their love story blossomed!

Who is Kal Penn’s fiancé?

Penn is engaged to a gentleman named Josh. Little else is known about Josh beyond what Penn shares in his book, which the actor explained was a deliberate move. “I’ve always been very public with everybody I’ve personally interacted with. Whether it’s somebody that I meet at a bar, if Josh and I are out or we’re talking to friends,” Penn told PEOPLE. “I’m really excited to share our relationship with readers. But Josh, my partner, my parents, and my brother, four people who I’m closest to in the family, are fairly quiet. They don’t love attention and shy away from the limelight.” One thing we do know? Josh loves NASCAR. Josh arrived at Penn’s apartment for their first date with an 18-pack of beer and set up shop watching the races. “I thought, ‘This obviously is not going to work out. I have one day off from The White House and this dude is unironically watching cars go around and make left turns?’ Next thing you know, it’s been a couple months and we’re watching NASCAR every Sunday,” Penn said. “I’m like, ‘What is happening?’ I wanted the reader to enjoy the love and the humor through all of those stories.” Since Penn went public with his engagement, some outlets have hinted that Josh was the man seated next to the actor when he was photographed sitting courtside at a Knicks-Pistons game in New York City in March 2018:

When did Kal Penn meet his fiancé?

Penn met Josh when he was living in Washington, D.C., working for then-President Barack Obama’s administration. Penn revealed on CBS Sunday Morning that his and Josh’s 11th anniversary was in October, so they likely met in October 2010.

Is Kal Penn married?

Penn and Josh aren’t married yet, but they’re still working on their plans for the big day. “Obviously I am engaged to a man and our families will be there for the wedding,” Penn told PEOPLE. “The big disagreement now is whether it’s a huge wedding or a tiny wedding. I want the big-ass Indian wedding. Josh hates attention [and has said], ‘Or we could just do a quick 20-minute thing with our families and that’s it.’ So we have to meet halfway in the middle.”

Who has Kal Penn dated?

Penn has kept his private life fiercely private throughout his years in the spotlight—Josh is the first paramour the world has ever heard of for the star!

When did Kal Penn work in the White House?

In April 2009, Penn started working as the Principal Associate Director in the White House Office of Public Engagement. In February 2012, he was named one of the co-chairs of Obama’s re-election campaign, and in November 2013 was appointed to the President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities. He recalled his political awakening toNPR in 2019. “So 2007… the Democratic primary had an equal number of candidates, a really wide field… And all the screenwriters went on strike in 2007, as well. So, we couldn’t shoot episodes of House beyond a certain point. And [House co-star] Olivia Wilde said, ‘Hey, I’m going to an Obama event, do you want to come with me? I know you read his book.’ I said, ‘Yeah, I read his book, but I’m not interested in getting involved in politics.’” “So I went to this event with her, really actually liked it [and] was enamored enough by his campaign,” Penn said. “So [I figured] I’ll do three days in Iowa before the caucuses… And then he won! And there was an opportunity to serve in the White House, and, you know, what are you gonna say? ‘No Mr. President, I have another stoner movie to make?’” He told PEOPLE in 2016 that working in the White House has at least one unique aspect: No late-night food delivery. “You either bring your dinner or there are vending machines in the basement for snacks,” he said. “You can’t order Chinese food at 1 a.m. [because] it’s a security issue. So there’s no delivery.” In August 2017, Penn resigned from the committee after then-President Donald Trump’s remarks about the Unite the Right rally in Charlottesville, Va., which left one woman dead and several others injured. Penn announced his resignation in an open letter to Trump on Twitter, and if you look closely, you’ll notice that the first letter of each paragraph spells out “RESIST.”

Where did Kal Penn go to college?

Penn graduated from the University of California Los Angeles in 2000 with degrees in both sociology and film.

What did Kal Penn star in?

Penn’s most famous roles have been as Dr. Lawrence Kutner on House and as Kumar in Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle, Harold & Kumar Escape From Guantanamo Bay, Harold & Kumar Go to Amsterdam, and A Very Harold & Kumar Christmas. He was shocked at the success of the Harold & Kumar franchise, telling NPR that when the series’ co-creators Jon Hurwitz and Hayden Schlossberg sent him the script, he loved it, but didn’t think it’d ever get made. “I called them and said ‘This is is amazing. This movie is incredible. You’re never gonna sell it in Hollywood, because, trust me, nobody wants the brown and yellow guys as leads in the movie. They’ve told me to my face—I’m telling you.’ And he said in very New Jersey fashion, like, ‘No, we’re gonna sell this to a studio.’” Penn’s also starred in Van Wilder, Van Wilder 2: The Rise of Taj, Sunnyside, Designated Survivor, and The Namesake and has appeared in How I Met Your Mother, Deck the Halls, Superman Returns, Son of the Mask, Malibu’s Most Wanted, Epic Movie, and more. Next, loved Harold & Kumar? Check out these other hilarious stoner flicks.

Kal Penn Is Engaged  How Kal Penn Met His Boyfriend  His Time In The White House And More - 77Kal Penn Is Engaged  How Kal Penn Met His Boyfriend  His Time In The White House And More - 36