Jameela Jamil, 35, has long been a voice for people struggling with any aspect of their mental health. The actress and model started the Instagram account I Weigh in 2018 in an effort to create a safe, radically inclusive space on social media, and it has since grown into a community that amplifies new voices, artists, activists and movements. In short, Jamil has always understood the importance of prioritizing her mental health, but she wasn’t willing to bring it to the forefront until very recently. Now, she’s joined the growing number of celebrities who have opened up about how important mental health is. And that’s a very good thing because the results of a survey conducted by Parade and the Cleveland Clinic found that nearly 40% of respondents felt empowered to share their own mental health struggles after a celebrity or public figure did so. Here, Jamil shares what the pandemic has taught her about prioritizing her mental health, and what her perfect mental health day looks like—and we’re totally stealing it.

What the pandemic has taught Jamil about prioritizing her mental health

Before the pandemic, Jamil had an “I’ll prioritize my happiness later” mentality about her life. That’s not the case for her anymore. “The pandemic has forced me to slow down, as I think it has for many people, and it put into perspective how short life is,” she says. “I think I always had a fairly good grasp on that, because I’ve lived with chronic illness my whole life, but more than ever it’s reminded me that we have to make sure that today is better, that we do better, that we feel better. I’m going to prioritize my pleasure and happiness a bit more going forward in a way I didn’t think was really important before.”

Her perfect mental health day and mental health practice

When asked about her perfect mental health day, Jamil painted a picture of a day we can all get behind. “Genuinely? I would listen to the Equal Too podcast on a walk with my dog, eat a muffin, have a coffee, and then I would go wander around Target by myself,” she says. “That’s just me living my best life.” She adds that she also learned through her stunt work with Marvel how vital daily movement is for her mental health. “I remain humiliated that it’s taken me until 35 to learn that exercise really is for your mental wellness,” she says. “I thought that was a thin people lie, but I’ve actually learned that regardless of your size and ability, moving your body every single day is priceless for your mental health.” So, what’s her daily movement practice of choice? View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Jameela Jamil (@jameelajamilofficial) “I like to dance around to Beyonce in loose pajamas while eating toast. You have to take very small bites of toast, though, otherwise, you will choke and die.” Advice taken. Next up: 10 Best Mental Health Podcasts of 2021

Jameela Jamil Describes her Perfect Mental Health Day - 74Jameela Jamil Describes her Perfect Mental Health Day - 74