“When my name was called, obviously, I was pleased,” Parker told Parade.com at an American Idol party celebrating the Top 14. “I think it’s life changing. I look at the competition a little differently now because I know that no one is safe. This is a dream come true, so just to hear my name was freaking crazy. But I signed up for Idol for a reason, and I’m glad the judges believe in me and are giving me a second shot. Because that’s what I’m looking at it as, as a second shot.” Even with his second shot, Parker knows it is still a tough row to hoe despite the fact that there are more Black country artists getting radio play than ever before. Jimmie Allen, who was this season’s mentor and a previous American Idol contestant, is one success story that inspired Parker to pursue his dream. “We’re close in age,” the 27-year-old country singer from Warrenton, Va., said. “We grew up around the same area, the East Coast, Virginia and Delaware. They’re kind of like two of the same states as far as historically and stuff like that. They have the same feel as you drive them through, so I feel most connected to Jimmie.” And while being mentored by Allen in Hawaii, Parker said that the winner of the Academy of Country Music Awards New Male Artist of the Year Award told him to believe in himself because country music is from the heart. “Getting that advice from him definitely propelled the energy that I had for this round,” Parker said. “I had him in the back of my mind. I was in a sense singing to him, so I hope I made him proud. Hawaii was so special for me, I’m going to remember it for the rest of my life, the rest of my career. And that’s what I’m singing for. I’m singing so people believe me, so that I’m believable.” What may seem surprising is Morgan Wallen, who was caught on camera using a racist slur, is also a country artist who inspires Parker, and he went on record to say that he doesn’t believe that Wallen is a racist. “I don’t think he has a racist bone in his body,” Parker said. “I think he had moments that were not bright spots, but everybody goes through that. Everyone has moments when they would make a second choice, they would think about their decisions in that moment.” Parker was also encouraged by an interview that Luke Bryan did with E! News addressing racism in country music, during which the “Down to One” singer shared his thoughts that it was going to take some time for change to happen. “I’m a firm believer in that, but it also starts with individuals, and I’m going to be one of those individuals that relays that message that it’s going to take time but it’s going to happen,” Parker said. “I want to be at the forefront of that. I think Jimmie, Blanco, Breland,Mickey Guyton, they’re all doing that. They’re all stepping out.” For his Top 20 performance, Parker performed Maren Morris and Ryan Hurd’s No. 1 hit “Chasing After You,” singing both parts of the husband-and-wife ballad. “The time is so right for you in the world of music,” Bryan critiqued him. “You are checking so many amazing boxes. It is so inspiring being in this room and watching. I [previously] used the word superstar, and I feel you are a superstar, too.” And Bryan isn’t the only one who believes in Parker’s talent. His family is 100 percent behind him. “The family’s going nuts,” he said. “They’re calling me every day with their opinions, with their thoughts. They’re kind of like my news outlet, I learn some new things from them. So, it’s amazing, I’m in a really blessed position right now and I’m excited.” American Idol airs Sundays and Monday nights on ABC. Next, Watch American Idol Judges Give Out the First Platinum Ticket to Luke Bryan’s ‘Favorite Female Country Voice’ in Five Years!

American Idol Country Singer Mike Parker on Fighting Racism and Making it as a Black Country Singer  2022  - 54American Idol Country Singer Mike Parker on Fighting Racism and Making it as a Black Country Singer  2022  - 32American Idol Country Singer Mike Parker on Fighting Racism and Making it as a Black Country Singer  2022  - 85