For the Sunday night Top 24 performances, American Idol returned to the Aulani Disney Resort in Hawaii, where 12 of the artists took to the stage after being mentored by season 10 Idol alum and country great Jimmie Allen. Here’s how the night shook out. Jay Copeland, 23 Salisbury, Md. Musician “I Want You Back” by The Jackson Five Lionel: “First of all the singing was off the chart. You’ve got a range that’s ridiculous. But then he comes onstage with muscles and that football ability – the sidestep. I don’t know in terms of your song selection because I know what you’ve got in your arsenal, but I enjoyed the fact that you brought some energy to the stage. Bravo! Bravo! Bravo!” Elli Rowe, 19 Murfreesboro, Tenn. College student “Everywhere” by Fleetwood Mac Katy: “It really transported me. Nerves were there a touch because I know you can soar over those notes and hit them dead on every time. You are always beautiful and angelic. I thought this was a really good song choice.” Tristen Gressett, 17 Pell City, Ala. High school student “With a Little Help From My Friends” by The Beatles/Joe Cocker Luke: “You do what your heart desires. Don’t let anyone steer you any other way. You go out and you leave it on the stage every time. Even navigating the mic stand like Steven Tyler. You know how to entertain, and you sing great. I will be interested in how far you go in this competition.” Scarlet Ayliz, 18 Hartford, Conn. Sandwich artist “Levitating” by Dua Lipa Lionel: “In our business, it’s: Can you handle the pressure? You didn’t shrink, my dear. I realize now the crowd was the thing that was missing the whole time. I’m learning something about you. When you’re singing just in front of us, it’s one mode, but when you bring a crowd in, you felt confident on that stage, you felt in control, it’s your entertainment quality that I applaud you on this time around.” Sage McNeely, 20 Burbank, Calif. Nanny “Jolene” by Dolly Parton Katy: “That was a hypnotic version. It was very cool. There are a couple of other pros in this competition, so it will be about how you show off your individual quirks and strengths. I was missing a few from you tonight, I’m not going to lie, but to me you’re in the Top 5. I want to make sure America says the same thing and agrees with me because it’s in their hands now.” Danielle Finn, 17 Los Angeles, Calif. High school student “Your Song” by Elton John Katy: “There she is. I was wondering where she was. I thought that that rendition was really cool because it was jazzy. It was really your own voice. It was your own unique way of doing it. It wasn’t 100 percent. I still think you’re nervous. You’re 17-years-old, so you need to keep doing it over and over again.” Mike Parker, 27 Warrentown, Va. Carpenter “Best Shot” by Jimmie Allen Luke: “I got to sit back and watch what we’ve been telling you start to come together. To see that Jimmie Allen is inspiring you and then to see you, what a great moment you just had on stage. I could just enjoy the birth of you as an artist.” Emeryson Flora, 16 Cleveland, Ohio High School Student “Angels Like You” by Miley Cyrus Luke: “I thought it was one of my most favorite performances I’ve seen. I hear the maturity in your voice and then I see that you are 16 years old. I think you are tremendous. Your voice is so great, it pulls everyone in. Just walk out here and be confident because you’re truly amazing.” Dan Marshall, 24 Chesapeake, Va. Land Surveyor “Heaven” by Bryan Adams Lionel: “I watched you slowly relax. You started out choking the mic stand to death. Then you went to phase two, which is choking the microphone. Then you calmed down. Forget the guitar. I know when you don’t have your crutch sometimes, you go for something else. Enjoyed it.” Jacob Moran, 28 Dansville, Mich. Registered Nurse “In My Blood” by Shawn Mendes Katy: “You really rode it well. You sang the verse in such a reserved way, it was like I had never heard these lyrics before. It was like I had never heard the song. I think you have an incredible, spectacular voice. I want you to be freeer the next time because I can see you using your head to make all the choices. I want you to sing more with your heart. Let it flow out of you.” HunterGirl, 23 Winchester, Tenn. Music Therapist “Banjo” by Rascal Flatts Katy: “People want to party with you. I want to party with you. It’s the first time I saw you without a guitar. There were a few pitch things I had never heard from you, but I am not worried about you.” Nicolina Bozzo, 18 Toronto, Ontario, Canada University Student “Elastic Heart” by Sia Luke: “I’ve always thought you were one of the best if not the best singers in the competition. We’re outside. We’re not getting the sound as if we were inside in a big theater, but you really, really delivered all of the emotions. I could sit back and enjoy the performance.” The voting results from tonight will be revealed next week and two of these artists will be eliminated. American Idol airs Sunday and Monday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC. Next, Make Your Vote Count! How to Vote Online or By Text on American Idol 2022

American Idol  2022  Top 24 Videos from Night One of Season 5 on ABC - 10