“When you work so hard at something and we really are working so hard every day of our rehearsals, that payoff is so nice because it’s that reward from working so hard,” Kloots said in a Zoom call after last week’s performance. “It’s nice to get that. We go out there and we really try to do our best, so it’s nice to get scores that resemble that.” That said, there is pressure that comes with being an early frontrunner, but Amanda says she can deal with it. She just hopes to be able to live up to her stellar start. “I want to have a journey on this show,” she said. “I really want to be able to embrace each week and stay for as long as possible because I want to keep doing these dances and I want to make my partner proud. I just hope that I can stay to the end.” Last week’s performance was an emotional one for The Talk co-host. She and her pro partner Alan Bersten danced the foxtrot to “It Had to Be You,” the song was the first one she and her husband Nick Cordero, who died from COVID-19 in July 2020 after battling the virus for 90 days in ICU, danced to at their wedding. “I was honored to be able to dance to this song again,” Amanda said. “Obviously, it means the world to me. Our wedding dance was fun, but it technically wasn’t correct in any way, shape, or form. Nick wasn’t a dancer, so it wasn’t really like a dance. So, to be able to dance technically, a foxtrot, and to feel like Ginger Rogers was a dream come true. I knew it was going to be a little emotional, but I was trying to channel the more celebratory part of it than trying to go the emotional route.” Tonight, Amanda’s journey continues with Britney Spears night and she and Alan will be dancing the Cha Cha to the pop princess’ “Circus,” but, first, here is more of what Amanda had to say about her decision to join the cast of Dancing with the Stars and what it means to her.

Do you think Carrie Ann Inaba can be an impartial judge since you two worked together on The Talk?

I wish. I wish she would be an impartial judge. No, Carrie Ann is a dancer, and she knows that I want tough love. She knows that I want corrections. She knows that I want her to be hard on me. And also, that’s not her personality. She’s an honest, strong woman. She has to do her job and I want her to do her job. I promise you there will be no special treatment there. I wish there would be.

How supportive has The Talk staff been of your participation on DWTS?

The Talk has been so supportive of us and encouraging everyone to vote and rooting for me. That family over there is so wonderful. I’m so grateful to be able to go to work there every day and then to come here and get to work with this cast and crew. I honestly feel like I’m so blessed right now.

How do you balance The Talk with Dancing with the Stars?

On paper, it works out perfectly. I go to The Talk and then I’ll go to rehearsals. I’ll go to The Talk and then go to film for the show. So, I’m just kind of keeping positive and hoping that on paper translates to real life.

As discussed, your schedule is challenging, but what mental and emotional challenges are you anticipating?

I think, for me, time management, finding the time to do The Talk, to do the rehearsals, and to film Dancing with the Stars. But also, my No. 1 most important job in life is to be Elvis’ mom. I think that’s going to be my most difficult challenge is to find the time and the space. And then also the balance in my own life to try to find an hour to get a massage or to sleep. It’ll definitely be that, especially if I’m lucky enough to keep going on in this competition.

What have you found to be the biggest difference between ballroom dancing and Broadway dancing?

Ballroom dancing and the Broadway dancing that I used to do are, honestly, like English and Japanese. I am learning a completely new language. I have to throw everything I know out the window and it’s like starting from day one. I think the only thing that’s similar is the grueling rehearsals, the blisters, the sore body, the sore muscles, and the want to learn and the drive to just do better.

What would you say to those who think it’s unfair because you have a dance background?

First of all, there’s a lot of us on the show this year that have previous dance experience, so that’s the first thing. The second thing is what I said about dancing this kind of dancing. Ballroom dancing is a completely different world, a completely different style, so detailed. I’ve also never partnered with a man on Broadway. I was always dancing on my own or as a Rockette, you dance on your own, so this whole being held by a man, being led by a man, is completely different, a whole new world. I wish I had an advantage there, but I don’t.

You mentioned your time as a Rockette. How does that training help you with DWTS?

My former training with the Rockettes definitely helps with the determination, the drive, the go, the hustle. Again, again, again, I have to get it right. That mentality of rehearsal life is just ingrained in me. Alan said to me the other day and it was so sweet. “You never pick up your phone when we’re rehearsing.” Absolutely, not. Why would I pick up my phone? You don’t pick up your phone; you’re rehearsing. I think that that part of me has never left. It’s still there.

Why did you want to do the show at this point in your life? Why was now the right time?

I went through a really tough part of my life and I’m a mom, and through those two things, you lose yourself a little bit. You lose who you used to be. Dancing and performing was such a huge part of my life. I left it and I started my own fitness company and so much has changed since then that when Dancing with the Stars called, I was like, “Yes,” because I want to find that part of me again. I want to do that. It’s going to feel so good. It’ll be so cathartic and therapeutic for me, so I’m looking at it like that. I just want to find myself again.

By doing DWTS, what do you want fans to learn about the real you?

I want my fans to realize how you can really go for your dreams. That’s a huge part of my life and it always has been. Being on this show has been a dream of mine. I’ve watched Dancing with the Stars since season one, sitting on my couch thinking, “Oh, my gosh, these people are so lucky.” Now I’m one of these people. It doesn’t even feel like real life. And so, I feel like I want America to go on that journey with me. That you know what? You can dream big, you can go for it, and you can try and work hard and grow and succeed. I’m looking forward to that journey.

Does the fact that Cody Rigsby and Cheryl Burke were judged last week based on rehearsal footage change what you might wear to future rehearsals?

I like to come to rehearsal looking sharp. It makes me feel like a better dancer if I’m prepared. That’s always how I felt. Even when I go to work out in the gym, I like to dress the part, so that I feel like I’m taking on a character. Dancing with the Stars airs Monday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on ABC. Next, A Milestone Season! Everything We Know About Dancing With the Stars Season 30, Including the Full Cast

Amanda Kloots Says She Wishes Carrie Ann Inaba Would Be an  Impartial Judge  on Dancing with the Stars - 84Amanda Kloots Says She Wishes Carrie Ann Inaba Would Be an  Impartial Judge  on Dancing with the Stars - 96Amanda Kloots Says She Wishes Carrie Ann Inaba Would Be an  Impartial Judge  on Dancing with the Stars - 27