There are a lot of tech products out there for caregivers, so consulted real caregiver to find out which ones are actually helpful to them. Here’s what they had to say.  We asked two caregivers to share their experiences, and for the best technology products that have helped them do their job well and take care of themselves, too.

Best Tech Products for Caregivers

My story:

My name is Mary S. Daniel, and I am 59 years old. I live in Jacksonville, Florida, and I am a caregiver for my husband Steve who has been living with Alzheimer’s for 9 years. I am also an advocate for caregivers and founder of Caregivers for Compromise.  I came home from college in 1984 to care for my grandmother, who my mother was caring for in our home. Since that time, I have been a caregiver to my mother (who passed away in 1992 from pancreatic cancer) and my husband’s Steve parents who have all passed away. I am currently a caregiver for Steve who was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease in 2013 at the age of 59. I made the hardest decision I ever had to make in 2019 when I placed him in a memory care center. When the facility was locked down due to COVID in March 2020, I became a very vocal caregiver about my fight to get back in to be with him. (I took a dishwashing job that got me in.) I’m still Steve’s primary caregiver. Since he’s in a memory care center, my caregiving tasks are no longer the physical care (such as bathing and feeding)—but now I concentrate on the nurturing care of a wife to be certain his needs are met and he’s comfortable. Caregivers each have a very personal and individual journey, so we must remember to find what works best for us. Don’t be afraid to try new things to see if they work and you’ll eventually find the exact tools you need to take care of your loved one.

The tech products I swear by: 

Orbit Glasses Tracker Steve had lost over four pairs of glasses in his memory care center until I placed the Orbit tracker on them. A simple tracker has saved me hundreds of dollars in new glasses by using the app to alert me to where his glasses are hiding. It used to be so frustrating to have to hunt them down–I knew there were four pairs in his facility somewhere! But they no longer get lost because of this tracker. It’s been huge for us! Simple Music PlayerSteve has always loved music, especially the Blues. But as the disease progressed, he could no longer work his iPod or iPhone music. I was able to download his favorite music to the Simple Music Player so he can still enjoy his favorites. The Calm AppThis is for me! In the chaos of being a caregiver every day, I love having the Calm app that allows me to just sit in the quiet, even if it’s just a few minutes a day. To be able to step away and disengage allows me to recharge to take on what inevitably is next in the caregiving journey.

My story:

My name is Debbie Weiss, and I am 58 years old. I live in New Jersey, and I have been a caregiver for over 40 years. My caregiving began at the age of 17 when my dad had a massive stroke. He survived, but remained permanently disabled for the remaining 30 years of his life. I was his primary caregiver, as my parents were divorced. I am currently a caregiver to both my oldest son (21 years old) and husband who is permanently disabled due to several physical and mental illnesses. My son was diagnosed as a toddler with developmental disabilities, central auditory processing disorder and autistic spectrum disorder. He then added diagnoses of ADHD, depression, anxiety and bipolar 2 disorder. He currently lives at home and does not work or go to school. My husband has been disabled for four years and rarely leaves the house. Neither he nor my older son drive. I also have a younger son who is away at college. I am responsible for everything in my household. I work full-time, as well as a “side” business coaching other caregivers. I help them learn to prioritize themselves so they can regain their lives. This is truly my passion!

The tech products I swear by: 

Cozi Family Organizer App I am responsible for making my son and husband’s appointments. They need to know the schedule in advance or they get stressed. I set the app up to email them automatically when an appointment is made and then send automatic reminders. In addition, they get a daily email where they can see everyone’s schedule. Alexa Dot I use Alexa for my shopping list. This way my son and husband can just speak and tell Alexa to add something to the shopping list. Prior to Alexa, they would never write anything down and/or not tell me. Gratitude Journal App I use this everyday to help me remember to be grateful. This keeps me motivated and positive because caregiving is difficult and can leave  you feeling overwhelmed, depressed and resentful. Ten Percent Happier App Several years ago, I discovered that meditation helps me to calm and center myself amidst the chaos of caregiving. I started with the Ten Percent Happier app and really loved it! TM Community App More recently, I moved on to Transcendental Meditation. They have their own app that only trained TM meditators are able to access. Next up: 50 Caregiver Quotes to Get You Through Tough Days

8 Tech Products Caregivers Swear By  - 76